top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureroot root

Limasawa Southern Leyte


My Adventure Map of Limasawa! I drew it, promise! I came, I saw, I conquered and I fell in love (bisan wala mangchicks hehe). No traveler is an island, thus to an island is where travelers go. Limasawa is just too perfect to pass up and it’s so near my home. Where was I all these years? (wala ko nangchicks ha!). Deymn, so little has been written about Limasawa so I decided to write a trilogy about the island myself on my blog: Limasawa Island and The King of Summer and Limasawa: An Outsider’s Guide to Paradise. I’m still working on the finale because it will be a socio-political/historical essay on the island (I still need more research). But to be really honest, what’s really out there in Limasawa Island ? Here’s my Top 5 reasons why: Limasawa is History – There’s a quote in The Lord of the Rings “There are things that should not have been forgotten were lost. History became legend. Legend became myth.” This should not be the case for Limasawa (lol anong koneksyon?). This Island holds the claim of being the Cradle of Christianity in Asia, this is where lolo Ferdinand Magellan first made friends with the natives to the point of making a blood compact (Sandugo) with the island’s unnamed legendary chieftain, Rajah Bankaw, who had five wives (in local dialect Lima ug Asawa, thus the name Limasawa… mao to’y chicksboy! hahaha) and hosted the very first mass in Asia. Until this very day neighbouring islands like Homonhon Island and Butuan still contest such claims and the accuracy of the location. But until the time machine is invented, Southern Leyte will always celebrate and take pride that almost 400 years ago something really special happened in this beautiful island.. an event that paved the way for the Spanish Era. A detail of Carlos V. Francisco’s First Mass in the Philippines painting limacrossplanting Limasawa is a Pilgrimage Site – because of the island’s rich history the local government together with the Church developed a part of the island (Brgy. Magallanes) to become a pilgrimage site who wants to visit the origins of our religion. It is where you can find the Shrine of the First Mass and just 450 steps above is the site strongly believed where Magellan planted the first cross. 20140615_081321 the First Mass Shrine 20140615_084128 at the Hill where Magellan planted the cross of Christianity. Limasawa is a treasure itself – with only a total area of 6.98 square kilometers this hotdog-shaped island is relatively small but large enough for a traveler to explore their hearts desire where tranquility and beauty resides. In a weekend I managed to run the whole island on foot via the main roads, but it felt like I only got to taste a portion of it. I got lost on a trail one time, but I love I did! I was on the feet of a cliff where there’s caves and rock formations below. Also the local people are very nice and friendly to outsiders and tourists alike. I even made quick work on making friends with the kids and swam with them by sunset at the port. Amazing, this is the same community that survived the test of time. When Magellan landed this community is already thriving in trading as evidenced by archaeological findings and the land alone is blessed with natural resources. I want to film a short film right there. 20140614_153043 A picture of a volunteer teacher as the kids listen to her. Priceless moment. Whale Shark cliff officially my favorite cliff. Limasawa is a great training ground – let me get you straight I did visit the island not just to see the sights, I also came there to train. And I absolutely believe I came to the right place. In the island there’s a long winding cement road from tip to tip filled with crazy uphells and downhills. For trekkers, don’t worry the other side offers incredible trail roads across the hills and its untouched wonders. One can even bring a bicycle for a fast Tour de Limasawa, man, they’ll have more time to enjoy the island. And the white sand beaches stretches for kilometers, perfect for open-water training or running barefoot by the sands!

362 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page